Skip to main content

Mental Health

ᒫᓅᐦᐄᑰ
Maanuuhiikuu
Audio file
Description
ᐄᔨᔨᐅᔨᒧᐎᓐ | IIYIYIUYIMUWIN
Juliana Snowboy describes Maanuuhiikuu program and services (2018 interview on JBCCS)
Maanuuhiikuu emblem

Why look for mental health support?

Because emotions are like storms. They are a part of normal life ...and they pass.

Our trained counsellors are there to listen and to help you weather your life’s storms.

Are you in crisis?

Wiichihiiwaauwin (Mental Health) Helpline - 24/7. Cree speakers and Elders are available upon request

Our services

ᒫᓅᐦᐄᑰ

Maanuuhiikuu offers culturally safe mental health services that follow two healing paths: a traditional approach and a clinical approach. 

The Psychiatry program provides counselling and prescribes and monitors medications for people living with a mental illness.  

Child psychiatry focuses on the mental health of children and youth.

The social worker, human relations officer and community worker conduct psychosocial assessments, interventions and follow-ups with clients.

Psycho-educational services assist people who are struggling with behavioural adjustment problems in various aspects of their lives.

How to access Maanuuhiikuu services

Chisasibi

Go to the Hospital, where you can receive care and services 24/7. 

Other communities - weekdays

Go to the walk-in clinic at the CMC in your community. The nurse in Current Services will meet with you and will guide you to the most appropriate service. 

Other communities - after hours, or on weekends

Call your CMC, and a nurse will discuss with you the best way to get you the support you need. There are mental health nurses in several communities, as well as psychologists, community workers, and other team members who are there to support you.  

 

Community tour

Aaschihkuwaataauch ᐃᔮᔅᒌᐦᑯᐧᐋᑖᐅᒡ in Mistissini

ᐃᔮᔅᒌᐦᑯᐧᐋᑖᐅᒡ
Mon, Apr 5 - Fri, Apr 9 2021
Mon, May 3 - Fri, May 7 2021
Mon, May 31 - Fri, Jun 4 2021
Mon, Jul 5 - Fri, Jul 9 2021
Mon, Aug 2 - Fri, Aug 6 2021
Mon, Sep 6 - Fri, Sep 10 2021

Jeff Drugge, psychologist. Telephone or video conferencing only.

1 - 5 pm. This service is intended for youth (10-29 years old) and families.

ᐃᔮᔅᒌᐦᑯᐧᐋᑖᐅᒡ
Mon, Apr 12 - Fri, Apr 16 2021
Mon, May 10 - Fri, May 14 2021
Mon, Jun 7 - Fri, Jun 11 2021
Mon, Jul 12 - Fri, Jul 16 2021
Mon, Aug 9 - Fri, Aug 13 2021
Mon, Sep 13 - Fri, Sep 17 2021

Maria Gordon, family therapist. Telephone or video conferencing only. 1-5 pm

ᐃᔮᔅᒌᐦᑯᐧᐋᑖᐅᒡ
Mon, Apr 19 - Fri, Apr 23 2021
Mon, May 17 - Fri, May 21 2021
Mon, Jun 14 - Fri, Jun 18 2021
Mon, Jul 19 - Fri, Jul 23 2021
Mon, Aug 16 - Fri, Aug 20 2021
Mon, Sep 20 - Fri, Sep 24 2021

Sarah Robinson, art therapist. Telephone or video conferencing only.

1-5 pm

ᐃᔮᔅᒌᐦᑯᐧᐋᑖᐅᒡ
Mon, Apr 26 - Fri, Apr 30 2021
Mon, May 24 - Wed, May 26 2021
Mon, Jun 21 - Fri, Jun 25 2021
Mon, Jul 26 - Fri, Jul 30 2021
Mon, Sep 20 - Fri, Sep 24 2021
Mon, Sep 27 - Wed, Sep 29 2021

Reyhane Namdari, art therapist. Telephone or video conferencing only. 1-5 pm

Health tips

Depression is an extreme sadness/despair that lasts for weeks, months even years. It is profound pain that cannot be seen physically.

Anxiety is a body's natural reaction to a threat or a perceived threat.

ᒥᓯᐙ ᓈᑭᑎᐙᔨᒦᓲᒄ

It is important to look after yourself. Self-care is part of staying balanced and healthy, emotionally, spiritually, mentally and physically.

An overdose (also known as “severe intoxication”) is when a person takes too much of a substance, like alcohol or drugs.

COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted many customs and practices in Cree culture, including grieving & mourning loved ones who have passed.

Remote video URL

 

 

Support

Wiichihiiwaauwin (Mental Health) Helpline - 24/7. Cree speakers and Elders are available upon request

Meet the team that provides community members with free and confidential clinical and traditional options to choose from on their paths to wellness

An elder’s grandchild was very sick and was on the brink of death. This elder decided to give his grandchild a name. The elder named his grandchild “Maanuuhiikuu.” Not long after the child recovered from his/her illness. This child lived to old age. — ELDERS ROBBIE MATTHEW, EARL & NANCY DANYLUK, ROBBIE & ELIZABETH DICK

Related resources

Read Documents

Our Partners

Image
Grand Council of the Crees logo
Image
Santé et des Services sociaux logo
Image
Health Canada logo