Display Options

-A +A

Elections for the office of Chairperson of the Cree Board of Health and Social Service of James Bay

August 15, 2012

Please take notice that elections for the office of Chairperson for the Cree Board of Health and Social Service of James Bay have been called.

The present is in accordance with the Election By-Law of the Cree Health Board enacted on June 13, 2008, stating that one member of the Board of Directors shall be the Cree representative elected by and from the members of the Cree Regional Authority. The person, so elected shall be, ex-officio, the Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Cree Health Board for a term of four (4) years.

Qualifications to Vote
The qualification for eligibility to vote in the elections is as follows:
a) To be a Cree beneficiary of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.
b) To be of the age of majority at the date of the elections (18 years of age on September 26, 2012)
c) Not to be affected by any legal incapacity.

Qualifications for Office
The qualifications of Candidates for office of the Chairperson of are the same as the qualifications to vote, save that:
No one who is an employee or practices a profession with the Cree Health Board may be elected as the Chairperson unless that person resigns or ceases to practice upon being elected.

Anyone who acts as a Returning or Assistant Returning Officer for these elections may not be a candidate.

Nomination Procedures
Only persons who meet the qualifications and who is nominated in writing by fifteen (15) eligible voters on the nomination form provided may be a candidate for Chairperson.

The nomination form must be filed with the Returning Officer at least fifteen days prior to the date set for the Election date of September 26, 2012 by mail, telecopier, or e-mail.

The deadline for submission of the nomination forms is at 5:00 P.M on Friday, September 7, 2012. Please be advised that nominations received after the posted time will not be accepted.

The nominees will have until 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday September 12, 2012 to inform the Returning Officer whether to accept or decline his/her nomination.

The Returning Officer shall specify the dates, the time and places of the advance and travelling polls and polling Stations at a later date.

The nomination forms can be obtained from the Local Returning Officers that have been appointed by the Chief Returning Officer as per the attached schedule or from the office of the Chief Returning Officer at:

Lawrence Jimiken
Chief Returning Officer
1 Lakeshore Road
Nemaska, Quebec J0Y 3B0
Tel: (819) 673-2512 ext. 233
Cell. : (819) 865-7094
Fax: (819) 673-2542
E-mail: lawrjimi@hotmail.com